TapeTrack Documentation

Because there is more to tape management than you ever realized

User Tools

Site Tools


technote:delete_volumes

Differences

This shows you the differences between two versions of the page.

Link to this comparison view

Both sides previous revisionPrevious revision
technote:delete_volumes [2026/07/22 01:36] Scott Cunliffetechnote:delete_volumes [2026/07/22 01:45] (current) Scott Cunliffe
Line 1: Line 1:
 ====== Deleting Volumes ====== ====== Deleting Volumes ======
  
-<note tip>You must have **Alter** rights to delete volumes</note>+<note tip>You must have **Alter** rights to delete [[object:volume|Volumes]]</note>
  
 Select the required [[object:volume|Volume]], or range of [[object:volume|Volumes]] from the Inventory window you want to delete. Select the required [[object:volume|Volume]], or range of [[object:volume|Volumes]] from the Inventory window you want to delete.
Line 9: Line 9:
 {{:master:tapemaster_delete_volume.png}} {{:master:tapemaster_delete_volume.png}}
  
-The **Volume Deletion** window will display the **Repositories** where the volumes to be deleted are located in the top pane and Volume-ID's in the lower pane.+The **Volume Deletion** window will display the **Repositories** where the [[object:volume|Volumes]] to be deleted are located in the top pane and Volume-ID's in the lower pane.
  
-<note important>If the **Volume Deletion** window is not displayed it is because you are running an outdated version of TapeMaster.  Instructions to delete volumes in older versions of TapeMaster can be found  [[master:delete_volumes_legacy|here]] +<note important>If the **Volume Deletion** window is not displayed it is because you are running an outdated version of TapeMaster.  Instructions to delete [[object:volume|Volumes]] in older versions of TapeMaster can be found  [[master:delete_volumes_legacy|here]] 
 </note> </note>
  
Line 20: Line 20:
 For any repository listed with a status of **Deletes Forbidden** you must either: For any repository listed with a status of **Deletes Forbidden** you must either:
   * Right clicking the row and selecting ''Allow'' to change status to **Deletes Allowed**   * Right clicking the row and selecting ''Allow'' to change status to **Deletes Allowed**
-  * Right clicking the row and selecting ''Remove'' to remove the volumes before deletion of any volumes located in a repository with **Deletes Allowed** status.+  * Right clicking the row and selecting ''Remove'' to remove the [[object:volume|Volumes]] before deletion of any [[object:volume|Volumes]] located in a repository with **Deletes Allowed** status.
  
 {{:master:tapemaster_delete_volume_deletion_allow.png}} {{:master:tapemaster_delete_volume_deletion_allow.png}}
Line 32: Line 32:
 {{:master:tapemaster_delete_volume_deletion_allow_confirm.png}} {{:master:tapemaster_delete_volume_deletion_allow_confirm.png}}
  
-As deleting volumes is permanent, clicking ''No'' to the delete confirmation is your last opportunity to cancel the delete function. +As deleting vis permanent, clicking ''No'' to the delete confirmation is your last opportunity to cancel the delete function. 
  
-<note tip> When a volume is deleted its historical entries remain in the database.  If a deleted Volume is added back in to the database, all previous history records including when deleted and added back, are listed under that volumes ''History'' tab. </note>+<note tip> When a volume is deleted its historical entries remain in the database.  If a deleted [[object:volume|Volume]] is added back in to the database, all previous history records including when deleted and added back, are listed under that [[object:volume|Volume's]]  ''History'' tab. </note>
  
 {{object:tapemaster_delete_add_volumes.png}} {{object:tapemaster_delete_add_volumes.png}}
technote/delete_volumes.txt · Last modified: 2026/07/22 01:45 by Scott Cunliffe